Review: The Playbook

The Playbook

#newrelease #bookreview #sportsromance #4stars

The Playbook by Kelly Elliott

My rating: 4 of 5 stars
First and foremost, I loved Brett Owens!!!
Kelly Elliot knows how to write the perfect mix of alpha, sexy, sweet & mushy. The forbidden romance factor made the story all the more hot!
Brett Owens is the youngest and most successful college football coach and he’s also a playboy. Aubrey is the upcoming journalist sent to write about him. Its “lust” at first sight for both of them. However since it’s forbidden and risky for both their careers, they decide not to give in to their attraction. However, for a change, both acknowledge thier lust ( instead of tiptoeing around each other which is usually the case). They develop a strong foundation of friendship and their banter is also funny and flirtatious.

Aubrey held up her hands and laughed. “I’m kidding. My gosh. I already know the history. Teammates in college.”
Troy and I looked at each other. “She has a whole fucking notebook of shit about me. It’s kind of creepy.”
Aubrey placed her hands on her hips and grinned even bigger. “I even know what kind of underwear you buy.”
My eyes widened in shock. “What?”
She nodded and said, “Yep,” popping the p.
“How?” Troy asked for me since I was still in a somewhat state of utter shock.
Aubrey did a few stretches and took off jogging backward while she called out, “I have my sources!” With an evil laugh, she turned and started running.
Troy and I stood there watching her as I tried to figure out ways to send her back to Connecticut. Troy chuckled as he hit me on the back. “I’d be very afraid of that girl.”
“Oh, trust me, I am.”

The characters have a maturity which is refreshing. There are multiple subplots in this book which add to the drama but Aubrey and Brett handle them beautifully and successfully. The last bit of the story – the separation before they unite was a bit weird for me. I didn’t understand the reasons and justification for why they had to part ways. But its still and HEA and all is well in the end.
The Epilogue was especially sweet and heart-warming.

BUY LINKS- 

Amazon – http://amzn.to/29i8pZQ

iBooks – http://apple.co/2cbv1Os

Barnes and Noble – http://bit.ly/2961Vls

Kobo – http://bit.ly/2bp0U7q

About The mom's life

I am a multi-tasker mom passionate (read obsessed) with healthy cooking, baking and books!!!
Image | This entry was posted in Book Review, New Releases, Sports Romance. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

